Feedback / Suggestions

Institute Patrons


Smt. Vandita Sharma, IAS

Additional Chief Secretary & Development Commissioner & Chairperson, Governing Council, MGIRED


Smt. Vandita Sharma is 1986 cadre IAS officer. She did her M.A. in English Literature at Punjab University, Chandigarh and Masters in Development Management in Development Administration at Asian Institute of Management, Manila, Philippines. She started as not for profit Non-Government Organization, Education Development Centre. She was also the Chief Executive Officer in Mandya. She served as Deputy Commissioner, Hassan; Director, Ministry of Civil Aviation, Govt. of India; Project Director, Sarva Sikshana Abhiyana, Govt. of Karnataka; Secretary, Primary & Secondary Education; Mission Director, National Rural Health Mission; Managing Director, Karnataka State Industrial Investment Development Corporation; Principal Secretary, Department of Horticulture, Govt. of Karnataka; Chairman & Managing Director, Karnataka State Financial Corporation; Additional Chief Secretary, Infrastructure Development Department, Govt. of Karnataka; Member (Finance), Space Commission & Atomic Energy Commission, Govt. of India; Additional Secretary, Department of Space, Govt. of India; Member, MYRADA; Additional Chief Secretary, Department of Forest, Ecology & Environment, Govt. of Karnataka. Presently she is Additional Chief Secretary & Development Commissioner, RDPR Department.


Shri Luthfulla Khan Atheeq, IAS

Principal Secretary to Government, Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Department & Chairperson, Executive Committee, MGIRED


Shri Luthfulla Khan Atheeq selected to IAS in 1991. He did his M.A. in Public Administration at Syracuse University, USA and M.Sc. in Agricultural Economics at UAS, Bangalore. He worked in various capacities in Karnataka State. These include working as Deputy Secretary (Services), Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms, responsible for Cadre Management of All India and other Services. Served as Chief Executive Officer, Karwar and Deputy Commissioner of Mandya and Hassan Districts, responsible for District Administration. Served as Director, KRWSSA, RDPR and implemented World Bank assisted Rural Water Supply and Sanitation Project. Served as State Project Director, Sarva Siksha Abhiyan, responsible for universalisation of elementary education.

He served in Government of India on deputation from the State as Director and Joint Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office. Was involved in the process of conceptulisation and formulation of policies and their approval for implementation. Also had the opportunity to work as Senior Adivser to the Executive Director, World Bank, Washington D.C. on foreign assignment basis from Govt. of India. Worked as Principal Secretary Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms (DPAR). Served as Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister of Karnataka during May-2016 to May-2018. Wherein he headed the Chief Minister’s office and advised the Chief Minister on Key Policy and Administrative issues.

Presently working as Principal Secretary, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, Govt. of Karnataka – responsible for implementatio of MGNREGA, Rural Drinking Water Supply, Swatchh Bharat Abhiyan, Rural Roads and Panchayat Raj Institutions.


Smt Uma Mahadevan, I.A.S.

Principal Secretary (Panchayat Raj), Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Department, Government of Karnataka


Smt. Uma Mahadevan, I.A.S., took charge as Principal Secretary (Panchayat Raj) in Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Department, Government of Karnataka on 08.04.2019.

Smt. Uma Mahadevan is 1992 cadre IAS officer. She served in top post of various departments of Government of Karnataka. She served as Government Principal Secretary in Agriculture Department, Education Department, Health & Family Welfare Department, Women & Child Develoment Department & Project Department. She also served in Department of Automic Energy, Government of India and Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Institute. She is member of working group who first prepared Human Development Report and she is Writer and Book Critic and published several articles on social zones(circle) and issues.


The three-phase Panchayat Raj organizations constituting constitutional framework for democracy, such as District, Taluk and Gram Panchayats Rural Participation Programs, are aimed at assessing the needs and real needs of the respective region, thus providing the best social life for the living standards of the rural population. Legends have been appointed as the General Secretary (Panchayat Raj) of the Government of the Rural Development and Government of the Panchayat Raj Department, which has the responsibility of forming the same.

This is a welcome to Smt. Uma Mahadevan, who is welcomed by Karnataka Vikas, and wish to be successful and good in all fields of her administration with congratulations.


List of Executive Directors who served at Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Rural Energy and Development since its inception:






Sri. Bharathkumar, KAS




Smt. N.Devakumari, KAS




Smt. Ritu Kakkar, IFS




Sri. C.S.Raju, IFS




Sri. G.S. Prabhu, IFS (Incharge)




Sri. M.R.Karki, IFS




Sri. H.G.Shivanandamurthy, IFS (Incharge)




Sri. H.P.Prakash, IFS (Incharge)




Sri. Punati Sridhar, IFS




Dr. T.V. Mohandas, IFS




Sri. Manoj Kumar Shukla, IFS



Last Updated: 06-04-2023 01:44 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
CONTENT OWNED AND MAINTAINED BY : Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Rural Energy and Development
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080